The Scandinavian Logic Society

Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2020

Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI) has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information (http://www.folli.info/?page_id=74), with financial support of the E.W. Beth Foundation (https://www.knaw.nl/en/awards/funds/evert-willem-beth-stichting/evert-willem-beth-foundation). Nominations are now invited for the best dissertation in these areas resulting in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2019.

The deadline for nominations is the 15th of April 2020.


The prize consists of:

Only digital submissions are accepted, without exception. Hard copy submissions are not allowed. The following documents are to be submitted in the nomination dossier:

All pdf documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, via EasyChair by following the link https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bdp2020. In case of any problems with the submission one should contact the chair of the committee Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (m.sadrzadeh@ucl.ac.uk).

The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony during the 32nd ESSLLI summer school in University of Utrecht, August 3-14, 2020.

Beth dissertation prize committee 2020:

Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)

Alexander Clark (Kings College London)

Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University)

Robin Cooper (University of Gothenburg)

Guy Emerson (University of Cambridge)

Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)

Arash Eshghi (Hariot-Watt University)

Sujata Ghosh (ISI, Chennai)

Davide Grossi (Universities of Groningen fand Amsterdam)

Chris Haase (University College London)

Aurelie Herbelot (University of Trento)

Louise McNally (Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona)

Reinhard Muskens (University of Amsterdam)

Laura Rimmell (Deep Mind)

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (University College London, chair)

Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh)

Matthew Stone (Rutgers)

Jouko Väänänen (University of Helsinki)

Noam Zeilberger (Ecole Polytechnique)