the scandinavian logic society

slideshow 1

13th International Conference on Advances in Modal Logic


Advances in Modal Logic is an initiative aimed at presenting the state of the art in modal logic and its various applications. The initiative consists of a conference series together with volumes based on the conferences. Information about the AiML series can be obtained at

AiML 2020 is the 13th conference in the series.


We invite submissions on all aspects of modal logic, including:

history of modal logic
philosophy of modal logic
applications of modal logic
automated reasoning for modal logics
computational aspects of modal logic (complexity and decidability of modal and temporal logics, model checking, model generation)
theoretical aspects of modal logic (topological/algebraic/categorical perspectives on modal logic, co-algebraic modal logic, completeness and canonicity, correspondence and duality theory, many-dimensional modal logics, modal fixed-point logics, model theory of modal logic, proof theory of modal logic)
specific instances and variations of modal logic (description logics, modal logics over non-boolean bases, dynamic logics and other process logics, epistemic and deontic logics, modal logics for agent-based systems, modal logic and game theory, modal logic and grammar formalisms, provability and interpretability logics, conditional logics, spatial and temporal logics, hybrid logic, intuitionistic (modal) logics, intermediate logics, bunched implication and separation logics)
Papers on related subjects will also be considered.


There will be two types of submissions for AiML 2020:

(1) Full papers for publication in the proceedings and presentation at the conference.

(2) Short presentations intended for presentation at the conference but not for the published proceedings.

Both types of papers should be submitted electronically using the EasyChair submission page at:

At least one author of each accepted paper or short presentation must register for and attend the conference.


Authors are invited to submit, for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings, full papers reporting on original research and not submitted elsewhere. The proceedings of AiML 2020 will be published by College Publications ( in a volume to be made available at the conference.

The submissions should be at most 15 pages, with an optional technical appendix of up to 5 pages, together with a plain-text abstract of 100-200 words. The submissions must be typeset in LaTeX, using the style files and template that will be provided on the AiML 2020 website: in due time.

Authors must submit an abstract in plain text via EasyChair by the abstract deadline prior to full submission of their paper.

The presentations of accepted full papers will be 30 minutes long.


These should be at most 5 pages. They may describe preliminary results, work in progress etc., and will be subject to light reviewing. The accepted submissions will be made available at the conference, and the authors will have the opportunity to give short presentations (of up to 15 minutes) on them.


To be announced


Natasha Alechina, University of Nottingham
Maria Aloni, University of Amsterdam
Philippe Balbiani, CNRS, IRIT Toulouse
Guram Bezhanishvili, New Mexico State University
Marta Bílková, Charles University Prague
Patrick Blackburn, University of Roskilde
Agata Ciabattoni, TU Wien
Giovanna Corsi, University of Bologna
Giovanna D’Agostino, University of Udine
Stéphane Demri, CNRS, LSV, ENS Paris-Saclay
Hans van Ditmarsch, CRNS, LORIA Nancy
David Fernández-Duque, Ghent University
David Gabelaia, TSE Razmadze Mathematical Institute
Didier Galmiche, LORIA, University of Lorraine
Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan
Valentin Goranko, Stockholm University
Rajeev Goré, The Australian National University
Davide Grossi, University of Groningen
Helle Hvid Hansen, Delft University of Technology
Wesley Holliday, UC Berkeley
Agi Kurucz, King’s College London
Roman Kuznets, TU Wien
Carsten Lutz, University of Bremen
George Metcalfe, University of Bern
Larry Moss, Indiana University
Cláudia Nalon, University of Brasilia
Sara Negri, University of Helsinki
Eric Pacuit, University of Maryland
Xavier Parent, University of Luxembourg
Valeria De Paiva, Samsung Research America, Birmingham University
Sophie Pinchinat, IRISA, University of Rennes I
Mark Reynolds, The University of Western Australia
Renate Schmidt, University of Manchester
Ilya Shapirovsky, Institute for the Information Transmission Problems
Valentin Shehtman, Institute for the Information Transmission Problems
Thomas Studer, University of Bern
Sara L. Uckelman, Durham University
Yde Venema, University of Amsterdam
Yanjing Wang, Peking University
Michael Zakharyashev, Birbeck University of London.

Nicola Olivetti (LIS, Aix-Marseille University)
Rineke Verbrugge (University of Groningen)

Sara Negri, University of Helsinki (chair)
Gabriel Sandu, University of Helsinki (co-chair)
Fausto Barbero
Annika Kanckos
Eugenio Orlandelli
Edi Pavlovic

Abstracts of full papers submission deadline: 11 March 2020
Full papers submission deadline: 18 March 2020
Full papers acceptance notification: 18 May 2020
Short presentations submission deadline: 25 May 2020
Short presentations acceptance notification: 8 June 2020
Final version of full papers and short presentations due: 11 June 2020
Conference: 17 August – 21 August 2020


Please see


E-mail enquiries should be directed to the PC chairs, sent to

 Photo of Mount Akka / Àhkka massif seen from the high plateau Maukojaureh north-east of it by Tobias Radeskog / CC BY 3.0.